2014
Annual Review
THE BEST PEOPLE TO WORK WITH

our reputation is

built on

our experience

About Us

Georgiou is a national building construction, engineering and property development company, delivering major projects across Western Australia, Queensland, Victoria and New South Wales. With more than 30 years' business experience and more than 700 people, Georgiou has developed three separate but congruent businesses, which work hand-in-hand to provide a complete service for our clients.

Georgiou Group – delivers building construction, camp and village accommodation, earthworks, land development, marine and port infrastructure, non process infrastructure, precast, roadworks and bridges, structural concrete and water infrastructure Nationally.

Georgiou Capital – owns and invests in commercial, industrial and multi-residential properties in WA.

Georgiou Developments - develops commercial, industrial and multi-residential properties in WA.

Our Vision and Values

Our vision is to be 'the best people to work with.' 

Our values guide our interactions, influence our decision making and shape our company culture. 

SAFETY

The safety of our people is our single most important priority in everything we do, whether we are on a construction site or in the corporate office.

TEAMWORK

We value the contribution of everyone and recognise the effort and commitment of the entire team to achieve the very best.

EXCELLENCE

Our people consistently demonstrate excellence in their field and we continue to support this by developing programs which help increase effectiveness, efficiencies and productivity.

PRIDE

As we reach goals and milestones, or are recognised for excellence, we acknowledge people’s contributions and celebrate our successes.

Year in Review

OUR REPUTATION IS

BUILT ON

OUR PERFORMANCE

CEO Overview

The 2013/14 Financial Year has been Georgiou Group’s most successful to date. Not only was our revenue at a record high, our Total Recordable Injury Frequency Rates significantly decreased, our national growth has continued into New South Wales, we have successfully delivered a number of complex and challenging projects and provided our clients with more innovative solutions to assist them in delivering their projects.

Financially, this year we’ve seen revenue of more than $600 million with our Infrastructure Business Unit surpassing their forecasted revenue on two occasions. Our Building Business Unit is continuing to grow with the recent award of projects in the education and health sectors. Additionally, their work hasn’t gone unrecognised in the industry with the team picking up multiple Master Builders and Australian Institute of Building Awards. While the past 12 months has seen a decrease in work in North West WA and some of our bigger clients postponing projects, our Victorian Business Unit has flourished, returning $27 million revenue as they continue to enhance their land development relationships and push into building and marine work. Our Queensland Business Unit has also demonstrated a sustainable position in the infrastructure market, securing a number of flagship projects such as Spring Gully Pond C and multiple roadworks projects on Bruce and Dawson Highways.

This time last year, Georgiou rolled out Safety is My Way – a personalised brand of exemplary safety behaviour that encourages and influences a high performing, authentic safety culture across Georgiou. Since its implementation, the number of incidents on our projects has decreased and our safety culture has improved significantly. This can only be attributed to our people who have taken ownership for their safety and the safety of others. Safety is My Way has and will continue to transform Georgiou’s safety culture from one of compliance and prescription to part of our core beliefs and values.

I truly believe our team of dedicated, high performing individuals strive to deliver the best solutions and results for our clients and are the best people to work with. We’ve seen some of our experienced staff transfer to other States to assist with project start-up and build the capability of staff in other regions. This sharing of knowledge and dedication to achieving the best outcome for Georgiou is to be commended and I could not be more proud.

As we continue to push into new markets, the 2013/14 financial year saw us welcome work from new clients such as Origin Energy, Patrick Autocare, Curtin University, Fortescue Metals Group (FMG) and St John of God Health Care. In saying that, we have continued to foster strong relationships with current and enduring clients BHP Billiton Iron Ore, LWP Property Group, Department of Defence and Main Roads WA. In particular, for the past 20 years we’ve been building the Ellenbrook Estate in WA for LWP Property Group. This relationship has now extended across the company with the award of the Huntlee Estate in the Hunter Valley, NSW. It’s fantastic to be back in NSW and be in the company of one of our longstanding clients. These relationships are what sustain us and Georgiou is only as good as the clients it serves.  

Georgiou is in a unique position as our work not only extends across Australia but our capability is diverse. The next financial year looks extremely promising as we continue to ride the wave of economic uncertainty and establish ourselves as an Australian company with a reputation for delivering quality projects, safely, on time and on budget.

 

John Georgiou

CEO

Chairman’s Message

As Chairman of Georgiou, I am delighted to present the Group’s Annual Review for the 2013/14 financial year. When I wrote this column last year, Georgiou were in a great position for sustainable growth in 2014 and as I reflect, the company has exceeded our expectations and had a record year in both revenue and performance. 

In 2013/14 we saw our bigger clients place a number of high profile projects on hold and despite the drop in iron ore prices and change in government, Georgiou has maintained steady levels of growth. Our long-term clients have demonstrated confidence in us by continuing to choose Georgiou to address their most complex projects, with some taking us along the journey into new sectors and States. While our Engineering Business Unit has felt a decrease in work, our Building Business Unit is now pushing into new sectors and continuing to build a strong reputation as a quality builder. Additionally, our Victorian and Queensland Business Units are securing key projects with blue chip clients and building the Georgiou profile in their respective regions.

This would not be possible without the incredible people who work for Georgiou. The talent, depth and determination of Georgiou staff is unmatchable. They continue to adapt to the ever-changing economic environment, introducing new solutions and innovative construction methods to provide our clients with the best possible service. They are an absolute asset to the Georgiou brand.

On behalf of the Board, I’d like to thank every member of the Georgiou team for their dedication, perseverance and contribution over the past year. It is undeniable that this commitment has allowed Georgiou to continue to deliver outstanding results and edge closer to the National business it aspires to be. 

 

Joe Trio
Chairman 

 

Financial Performance

Highlights

July 2013

  • Three Bridges team receive Contractor of the Month by BHP Billiton Iron Ore 
  • Gap Ridge Wastewater Headworks awarded 
  • Nebo Unit Train Maintenance Facility awarded 
  • Knutsford Street Apartments awarded

August 2013

  • Georgiou awarded second Origin contract for the Yellowbank CTP Water Handling Upgrade 
  • Wangara Industrial Expansion awarded 
  • New charity partners announced – Cystic Fibrosis WA, Mandurah Reach Out Drop In Centre and Bellamour

September 2013

  • Victoria welcomes new General Manager Geoff Thomas 
  • Georgiou awarded third Origin Energy contract for the Talinga Soil Erosion Repairs 
  • Georgiou wins two Australian Institute of Building awards for Birra Birra Village A and B at Cape Lambert and the Case Study Collaboration Centre in Perth

October 2013

  • Safety is My Way launched in QLD
  • Georgiou hosts first family day in WA
  • Mt Hospital Stage 2 awarded

November 2013

  • Safety is My Way launched in VIC
  • High Performance Project Delivery (HiPD) committee formed to drive change initiatives throughout the company

December 2013

  • Georgiou partners with Committee for Perth
  • Georgiou launches new intranet
  • Precinct 3 Subdivision reaches practical completion

January 2014

  • Greenough River Bridge awarded
  • Tassels Place Office Development reaches practical completion

February 2014

  • Georgiou takes out Trainee of the Year Certificate IV, Indigenous Trainee of the Year and Future Leader at Civil Contractors Federation WA Industry and Civil Train Awards
  • LWP Property Group awards Georgiou Huntlee Estate land development project, bringing Georgiou back to NSW

March 2014

  • Women in Georgiou partners with Jackson McDonald for pilot mentoring program
  • Yellowbank and Talinga projects in QLD reach practical completion

April 2014

  • Three Bridges project reaches practical completion
  • Safety is My Way shortlisted in Chamber of Minerals and Energy (CME) WA Safety and Health Innovation Awards
  • Patrick Autocare awards Georgiou Webb Dock project
  • FMG Christmas Creek Dewatering Project awarded

May 2014

  • Curtin University Medical Centre awarded to Georgiou - the company’s first tertiary building 
  • Georgiou’s Asset and Inventory Management System introduced to capture asset cost and track maintenance
  • City Beach Redevelopment awarded
  • eProcurement launched

June 2014

  • Signed two new RAP partners - Balga Sports Foundation and Yirra Yaarkin Theatre Company
  • City of Joondalup Multi-Storey Carpark awarded
  • Georgiou’s Graduate and Cadet program ranks highly in Australia's Top 100 Intern Programs

Safety

OUR REPUTATION IS

BUILT ON

OUR SAFETY

Safety is my Way

 

In early 2013, Georgiou launched Safety is My Way – a personalised brand of exemplary safety behaviour that  influences and encourages a high performing ‘authentic’ safety culture across Georgiou. While our cultural safety framework – The Georgiou Way – governs our safety behaviour, Safety is My Way acknowledges those who display exemplary behaviour when it comes to safety. Each month, every employee at every project is reviewed to identify exemplary Safety is My Way behaviour by the Project Manager and Project Safety Advisor. Results are recorded on Georgiou’s internal web-based app providing dashboard reports. These reports help Georgiou understand the correlation between exemplary safety behaviour and incidents and accidents on projects. Exemplary behaviour is represented by the colour green and is ceremoniously recognised with the issue of Safety is My Way hats to outstanding employees. Since the introduction of Safety is My Way, Georgiou’s Total Recordable Injury Frequency Rates have fallen from 15.64 in June 2013 to 7.9 in June 2014. 

PEOPLE

PEOPLE

OUR REPUTATION IS

BUILT ON

OUR PEOPLE

Our Board

Joe Trio

Chairman
Assoc Civil Eng (WA Institute of Technology), MIEAust CPEng

Joe’s 35 years’ experience in the civil engineering industry is a valuable asset to Georgiou and his approach to health, safety and the environment is paramount to ensuring Georgiou’s future success. 

John Georgiou

Chief Executive Officer
BE (Civil and Environmental), OPM 36 (Harvard Business School) FAICD, FIE Aust

John became CEO of Georgiou in 1998 and under his leadership, the Company has successfully grown and diversified. 

Lui Giuliani

Non Executive Member
B.Bus (Curtin), CA

Lui brings to Georgiou’s Advisory Board extensive experience in acquisitions, business development, taxation and investment management. Lui’s experience and knowledge is invaluable when assessing potential growth and expansion opportunities for Georgiou.

Spiro (Peter) Georgiou

Company Director

Still a strong presence on site every day, Peter has more than 50 years of experience in land development, water infrastructure and road construction. As the original founder of the Group in 1977, Peter offers a practical approach to project challenges - meeting regularly with onsite personnel and becoming actively involved in undertaking specialised tasks on location. 

Mike Connell

Non Executive Member
M.IR, BA (Politics and Industrial Relations)

With a wealth of experience in Human Resources and Safety Management, Mike offers insight into Georgiou’s executive and operational reporting systems. Mike facilitates a number of programs with Georgiou’s senior management to improve commercial acumen and strategic communication. 

Leadership Team

John Galvin

Executive General Manager - Engineering
BE (Civil), MBA, Grad Dip of Technology Management, FIE Aust, MAICD, GMP (Harvard Business School)

John has more than 25 years’ experience in the construction and engineering industries. He has overall responsibility for the oversight of half of Georgiou's operational business units, its internal survey capability and various business improvement initiatives. John is the executive charged with the leadership of Georgiou’s reconciliation and gender diversity strategies. John sits on the Executive Council of the CME WA; is trustee of the Committee for the Economic Development of Australia (CEDA) and is a member of the Council of Governors for the American Chamber of Commerce in Australia (AMCHAM). 

Lambros Siamos

Chief Operations Officer
BE (Construction), GMP (Harvard Business School)

As Chief Operations Officer, Lambros focuses on the operational performance of the Georgiou Business Units to ensure accountability for the company’s forward order book.

Errol Keyt

Chief Financial Officer
CIMA

With more than 35 years’ experience, Errol has overall responsibility for Corporate Services and the Plant Department. Errol is the champion for innovation through technology, modernising the company with Business Intelligent Systems resulting in higher productivity and performance.

Steve Tennant

General Manager – Infrastructure
BSc Hons, MIEAust, CPEng, PMP

Steve has more than 30 years’ experience in an engineering capacity and is responsible and accountable for the management of Georgiou’s Infrastructure Business Unit in WA which operates in predominately land development, water infrastructure, earthworks and remediation.

Frank Dilizia

General Manager – Building
BE (Construction)

With more than 25 years’ experience in the delivery of a diverse range of commercial building and engineering projects, the bulk of Frank’s experience has been gained within a hard-dollar contracting environment, using various project delivery methods including lump sum, schedule of rates, design and construction, construction management, managing contractor, EPCM and joint ventures.

Tony Vowles

General Manager – Risk
B.Comm (Business Law); Adv. Dip Leadership Mgmt; Dip Company Sec. Prac; EMBA; Post-Grad Cert Construction Law; LLM; FCSA

With more than 25 years’ experience in the area of commercial and risk within the construction industry, Tony’s experience has been gained working on a broad range of projects from the construction of hotels to oil and gas refineries, both within Australia and internationally. Tony has oversight of Commercial, Planning, Legal, Insurance and Company Secretarial matters across the Group.

Geoff Thomas

General Manager - Victoria
BE (Hons)

Geoff has more than 20 years’ experience in the construction and building industry and is responsible and accountable for the management of Georgiou’s Victorian Business Unit which operates in predominately land development, water infrastructure, building construction and marine and port infrastructure.

Hugh Morrison

General Manager – Queensland
BSc (Geology), BE (Civil)

Hugh has more than 25 years’ experience in the construction industry and is responsible and accountable for the management of Georgiou’s Queensland Business Unit which operates in earthworks, non process infrastructure, ports infrastructure, land development, roadworks and bridges.

Scott Morris

General Manager – Finance
B.Bus CPA

Scott is responsible and accountable for the financial management, accounts management, payroll and quality functions across the Group.

Nigel Lauriston

General Manager – Plant

A qualified Plant Mechanic, Nigel has more than 25 years’ industry experience. In his role, Nigel leads the Plant management team and is responsible for Georgiou’s plant and equipment fleet.

Growth & Development

Georgiou​ has made a commitment to stay at the forefront of our industry, which includes ensuring employees receive the best training and professional development opportunities available.

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT MORE

high performance

OUR REPUTATION IS

BUILT ON

OUR INNOVATION

Map of Operations

AS AT JUNE  30, 2014

LOCATIONS

Building
01
Loftus Street Mixed-Use Development

LOCATION: Leederville, WA

02
Cambridge Medical Centre

LOCATION: Wembley, WA

03
Mount Hospital Forward Works and Theatres

LOCATION: Perth, WA

04
Armadale Council Building

LOCATION: Armadale, WA

05
Waratah Apartments

LOCATION: Dalkeith, WA

06
City Beach SLSC Redevelopment

LOCATION: City Beach, WA

07
Curtin University Medical Teaching Facility

LOCATION: Bentley, WA

08
Joondalup Multi-Storey Carpark

LOCATION: Joondalup, WA

09
St John of God Fitout

LOCATION: Wembley, WA

10
The Pocket Apartments

LOCATION: Claremont, WA

Engineering
11
Gateway WA

LOCATION: Forrestfield, WA

12
Greenough River Bridge

LOCATION: Greenough, WA

13
Christmas Creek Dewatering Project

LOCATION: Chichester, WA

Infrastucture
14
Gap Ridge Wastewater Headworks

LOCATION: Karratha, WA

15
South Hedland Pump Station

LOCATION: South Hedland, WA

16
Calleya Estate

LOCATION: Banjup, WA

17
Eliza Ponds Estate

LOCATION: Spearwood, WA

18
Wangara Industrial Expansion

LOCATION: Wangara, WA

19
Claremont on the Park

LOCATION: Claremont, WA

20
Alkimos Beach Estate

LOCATION: Alkimos, WA

21
Trinity Estate

LOCATION: Alkimos, WA

22
Ellenbrook Estate

LOCATION: Ellenbrook, WA

23
Huntlee Estate

LOCATION: Hunter Valley, NSW

Queensland
24
Spring Gully Pond C

LOCATION: Roma, QLD

25
Eight Mile Creek

LOCATION: Rockhampton, QLD

26
Pilot Wells Holding Tanks

LOCATION: Miles, QLD

27
Dawson Highway NDRRA

LOCATION: Bileola, QLD

28
Raw Water Intake and Pipeline

LOCATION: Marian, QLD

29
Braeside Pipeline Stage 2

LOCATION: Moranbah, QLD

Victoria
30
Mosaic Living Estate Stage 12

LOCATION: Lalor, VIC

31
Livingston Estate

LOCATION: Cranbourne, VIC

32
Kingsford Estate

LOCATION: Point Cook, VIC

33
Aitken Boulevard Carriageway

LOCATION: Cragieburn, VIC

34
Webb Dock PDI Facility

LOCATION: Port Melbourne, VIC

35
Essendon Fields

LOCATION: Essendon, VIC

36
Polaris Estate

LOCATION: Bundoora, VIC

37
Harvest Home Lane

LOCATION: Epping, VIC

38
Bradmill Development

LOCATION: Yarraville, VIC

Our Projects

As a national building construction and civil engineering company, Georgiou delivers major projects across Western Australia, Queensland, Victoria, Northern Territory and New South Wales.

CLICK HERE TO FIND OUT MORE

Reputation

OUR REPUTATION IS

BUILT ON

OUR INTEGRITY

Our Clients

We pride ourselves on working with the best people in the industry and achieving outstanding results for our clients.

Contact Us

HEAD OFFICE - PERTH

68 Hasler Road
OSBORNE PARK WA 6017

PO Box 1815
OSBORNE PARK DC WA 6916

PH: +61 8 9200 2500
EMAIL:
wa@georgiou.com.au

HUNTLEE

1794 Wine Country Drive
Branxton NSW 2335

PO Box 189
Branxton NSW 2335

BRISBANE

10 Browning Street
SOUTH BRISBANE QLD 4101

PO Box 5607
WEST END QLD 4101

PH: +61 7 3319 4500
EMAIL:
qld@georgiou.com.au 

 

GEORGIOU PRECAST

201 Camboon Road
MALAGA WA 6090

PO Box 1929
MALAGA WA 6944

PH: +61 8 9209 9275
FAX: +61 8 9249 6583
EMAIL: 
precast@georgiou.com.au

 

MELBOURNE

Level 1
420 St Kilda Road
MELBOURNE VIC 3000

PO Box 33173
MELBOURNE VIC 3004

PH: +61 3 8866 2200
EMAIL:
vic@georgiou.com.au

GEORGIOU PLANT

7 Talbot Road
HAZELMERE WA 6055

PO Box 2227
HIGH WYCOMBE WA 6057

PH: +61 8 6252 3900
FAX: +61 8 6252 3935
EMAIL: 
plant@georgiou.com.au

MACKAY

6/17 Brisbane Street
MACKAY QLD 4740

PO Box 452
MACKAY QLD 4740

PH: +61 7 4829 4300
EMAIL: 
qld@georgiou.com.au